Horrible Things

trump-scum
Flyers distributed in New York City.

It’s been a horrible week, lovelies. One of the most hateful and ugly-minded politicians I’ve seen in my lifetime has been elected President of the most powerful country in the world. My heart goes out to all my friends in the USA, especially my LGBT+ ones, who are particularly threatened by this man and the cruel, bigoted, ignorant people he’s assembling around him. Reports of hate crimes – against LGBT folk, against Muslims, against people who aren’t white – are rising.

I’m seeing a lot of defiance, though, a lot of people determined to resist everything he does, and I really hope that they’re able to stop him getting his way as much as possible. I hope as many of us as possible get through the next four years in one piece, and that at the end of it this man is voted out and that the damage he’s done can be put right.

Like a lot of Brits, I’ve been watching things unfold with a terrible feeling of helplessness. However, a friend of mine pointed me to this article in the Independent: Five Practical Things You Can Do To Fight Donald Trump If You Live In The UK. It’s worth a look. The same friend showed my this article by a US author called Kameron Hurley. It’s also very good.

In the meantime, much love to all of you, and please stay safe. It’s feeling very cold at Atherstone Hall today, and for once it’s not just the wind.

Carla xx

Leave a Reply

